Recycle your T shirts to make a scarf

Trim the hem off the bottom of your shirt, then cut strips all the way up to the arm holes and stop. I was able to get 12 strips out of this shirt.

Take each strip and pull it to stretch each strip out.  I cut one end of each strip, so that I could braid one side of my scarf. Cut a small strip of fabric and tie it around one side of your scarf to secure your strips together and start braiding. Once you’ve done about half, tie it off with about 3 small strips of fabric. Take the other end of your scarf, tie a small strip of fabric around the longer strips to secure them. I then, tied the two small strips together at the top to finish off the scarf.

OR

Don’t cut them, just take one piece of fabric and wrap it around, then sew it a bit to keep it secure. I made one for my daughter and she loves it – so do her friends!

Leave a Reply

